Special Programs

With the aim of international exchange, industry-academia collaboration, and nurturing of young researchers, the following programs have been organized in addition to the regular programs in this meeting.


1.The Annual Meeting-Organized Symposium


New aspects in Neurodegenerative Diseases - For the Future

Organizers: Nobutaka Hattori (Department of Neurology, Juntendo University School of Medicine / Neurodegenerative Disorders Collaborative Laboratory, RIKEN Center for Brain Science), Ryosuke Takahashi (Kyoto University Graduate School of Medicine)


Social Animal Models: Mouse, Vole and Marmoset Studies Towards Clinical Neuroscience of Autism spectrum disorder (ASD)

Organizers: Hidenori Yamasue (Hamamatsu University School of Medicine), Takefumi Kikusui (Azabu University)


The Social Neuroendocrinology: Subcortical Molecules Controlling Sexually Dimorphic Behaviors
Organizers: Sonoko Ogawa (Lab Behavioral Neuroendocrinology, Faculty of Human Sciences, University of Tsukuba), Larry Young (Emory University/Tsukuba University)

2.The Japan Neuroscience Society-Organized Symposium

NSR/Elsevier Symposium


Neuroscience of resilience for mental health
Organizers: Tomoyuki Furuyashiki (Division of Pharmacology, Graduate School of Medicine, Kobe University), Scott J. Russo (Department of Neuroscience and Friedman Brain Institute, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai)

Japan-Canada Joint Symposium


Understanding of synaptic and neural circuits through advanced optical technologies.

Organizers: Masayuki Sakamoto (Graduate School of Biostudies, Kyoto University), Robert E. Campbell (Department of Chemistry, University of Alberta)

3.Basic and Clinical Neuroscience Collaboration Symposia


Patient and Pubilic Involvement in Psychiatry
Organizer: Norio Ozaki (Department of Psychiatry, Nagoya University Graduate School of Medicine)
Chair: Ryota Hashimoto (National Institute of Mental Health, National Center of Neurology and Psychiatry)

4.Industry-Academia Collaboration

Appropriate presentations are marked with the industry-academia logo.

5.Junior Investigator Poster Award

Especially superior titles will be selected from the poster presentations prepared by the undergraduate students. The awardees will be celebrated on the meeting website as well.

6.Special Educational Lecture organized by Diversity Committee

Sayaka Oki (Graduate School for Economics, Nagoya University)
Date & Time: July 29, 12:20-13:20
Place: Room 1 (Main Hall)

7.Public Open Lecture

“Masters of Brain Science 2021” *in Japanese

Date & Time:
July 24, 14:00-16:30 *Pre-registration is not required.

Online Seminar

Kaoru Takeuchi (Writer of Science)

Yuta Aoki (Showa University Medical Institute of Developmental Disabilities Research)
Ayako Ishikawa (Department of Neurophysiology, Keio University School of Medicine)
Ai Koizumi (Sony Computer Science Laboratories, Inc.)
Hiroaki Norimoto (Graduate school of medicine, Hokkaido University)
Tsuyoshi Miyakawa (Fujita Health University)
Takamitsu Watanabe (IRCN, The University of Tokyo Institutes for Advanced Study)

Organaized by:
The Japan Neuroscience Society, The Japanese Society of Biological Psychiatry, The Japanese Society of Neuropsychopharmacology
Secretariat: jns2021@aeplan.co.jp